Battle for council seats heats up

Headshot of Jakeb Waddell
Jakeb WaddellBroome Advertiser
Shire of Broome offices during the 2017 election. (File image.)
Camera IconShire of Broome offices during the 2017 election. (File image.) Credit: Jakeb Waddell

Fifteen hopefuls are vying for five seats on the Shire of Broome council, while one candidate has been re-elected before a single vote has been cast.

Elsta Foy was re-elected after being the only candidate listed in the Dampier ward when nominations closed this month.

And the battle for five vacancies in the Broome ward is heating up, with the highest number of residents to toss their hat in the ring since 2009 listen on the ballot.

Among the wide field are incumbents Mala Fairborn, Bruce Rudeforth and Chris Mitchell, who have all put their hands up for another four-year term on council.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Warren Fryer moved overseas with his family and resigned from the Shire this year, creating another vacancy.

Catherine Marriott also announced she would be stepping down last month, despite her contract not expiring until 2021.

Former deputy Shire president Nik Wevers has nominated once again, with 10 years of experience on the Broome council under her belt. Rounding out the field are Natasha Aristei, Emily Cole, Elizabeth Ellis, Matthew Sear, Fiona West, Franque Batty, Andrew Chambers, Wade Freeman, Brendan Renkin, Peter Taylor and Garry Waldron.

The ordinary in-person election is due to be held on October 19 in the Shire administration building on Weld Street, with polls closing at 6pm.

The nine councillors will vote for Shire president after the elected members are sworn in.

Harold Tracey has held the civic leadership position for the past two years.

Councillors hold office for a four-year term and elections are held every two years.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails