Hard fight in the dirt

Headshot of Carly Laden
Carly LadenBroome Advertiser
Email Carly Laden
Overall winner Tom O'Connell burning up the track.
Camera IconOverall winner Tom O'Connell burning up the track. Credit: Mark Huang

Dirt bike enthusiasts flocked to the Willare Bridge Roadhouse to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Willare Enduro.

More than 50 riders competed in the two-day event, with the weather producing perfect conditions for all races.

It all kicked off with the juniors’ two-hour challenge, where competitors rode a 17km loop of the track.

Tyson Steer was declared the winner of the junior race, with Ethan Semark and Sebastian McGregor in second and third respectively.

The following day saw the senior riders step up for their 47km challenge.

In the hard fought contest, local Tom O’Connell was named the overall winner for the second year in a row, finishing in 4:00:59.7.

O’Connell was closely followed by Jake Watling (4:08:33.7) and Michael McKellar (4:28:07.6).

Damien Slate was the fastest out of the Classics, Graeme Ditterich took it out for the Masters, Ben Irwin won the Quads, Jason Camplin won out of the Veterans, and the team of Ben Semark and Rob Whiteman took it out for the two-team Pony Express riders.

Organisers Rob and Rebecca McGregor said all competitors raved about how good the event was and look forward to the next event.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails