Dirty Dozen’s mission complete

Headshot of Carly Laden
Carly LadenBroome Advertiser
Broome Cricket Association A Grade premiers Dirty Dozen.
Camera IconBroome Cricket Association A Grade premiers Dirty Dozen. Credit: Carly Laden

Despite a dust storm lingering at Nipper Roe Oval, the Dirty Dozen have pulled off a second consecutive premiership.

Dirty Dozen went head-to-head with Mangrove in the Broome Cricket Association A-grade grand final last Saturday, with the Dozen winning the toss and electing to bat first.

The Dozen seemed confident with Angus ‘The Bus’ Boult-Lyne and Harvey Poole taking to the crease first but their confidence was shaken when Boult-Lyne was caught out for just 10 runs by Ben McInnes in the ninth over.

Boult-Lyne was soon followed by Poole who was caught out by bowler Fletcher Ghandour for 20, then Casey Zepnick for seven and Conner Forde for just two.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


It seemed Mangrove were keen to knock off the Dozen with such a quick succession of wickets, with Farley Murton going as far as bowling out Dozen’s skipper Adam Falls for a single run in the 24th over. But Scott Hanna stepped up and became a beacon of hope for the Dozen, batting two fours and a six before he was caught by Sean Williams for 25.

Mangrove’s strong bowling and fielding returned as the change-over approached, knocking off Brett Morley and Joel Mulholland for 14 and nine runs respectively, until the Dozen finished their 35 overs on 8-121 with Sam Collins on 16 and Josh Linton one not out.

It seemed the Dozen were determined to give Mangrove a taste of their own medicine, with Collins bowling out Ghandour for a duck.

Despite the early exit from the opening batsman, it seemed Gareth Preece and Bradley Lovell were ready to work together towards surpassing the Dozen’s 121.

That was until Preece was caught out for 21 by Falls in the 16th over.

What followed was another quick succession of wickets with Murton, Liam Bagnall, Lovell and Daniel Moore all shown the door by the 26th over.

Mangrove’s chances of an upset ebbed away when Cameron Haynes was bowled out for just seven runs by Andrew Blackley.

Haynes was soon followed by Daniel McInnes, Matthew Jarvie and finally Jake Coles as Mangrove were all out for 96, sealing the match for the Dozen.

In B-grade, a low-scoring contest saw Roebuck (8-80) hold off Mangrove (all out for 48) and take the premiership.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails